* All the Villupuram District Chess Players are requested to register with VDCA by paying the Annual Membership fee ₹50 for the year 2019…. * All the District Level Tournaments must be pre-approved by the respective Taluk Secretaries, Bid-form available for download….


Villupuram District Chess Association

About us

Villupuram District was earlier a part of South Arcot District along with Cuddalore District. It was then bifurcated from Cuddalore and became a separate district on 30 September 1993. Villupuram District is the largest District in Tamilnadu State.

Dr.M.Balakrishnan (who is no more with us) had formed the Villupuram District Chess Association (VDCA) in 1999 and got affiliated to the parent body Tamilnadu State Chess Association (TNSCA)

As president Dr.Balakrishnan had run the Association successfully along with Mr.Stephen Xaviour, Mr.Arulmozhi, Mr.Kannan.K, Mr.Absalom A, Mr.Sampath R, Mr.Lenin V, Mr.Sundaram R, Mr.Narasimman J, Mr.Balaji Singh L, Mr.Jayachandran, Mr.Rajarathinam P D, Mr.Omanakrishnan B, Mr.Venkatesh Babu S, Mr.Chandrasekaran, Mr.Venugopal P, Mr.Alanday J, Mr.Raja, Mr.Kannan V, etc., He also conducted regular tournaments with the full support of Tamil Nadu State Chess Association. He never worried about spending money for Chess Tournaments. He helped in many ways to develop chess in Villupuram District.

The Honorary President Mr.P.Subburaman (Proprietor and Managing Director of Archana Groups of Hotels & Residency) Villupuram, has supported (especially financial support) for the growth of  Villupuram District Chess Association in many ways.

Our President Mr.B.Omanakrishnan is the proud son of Dr.Balakrishnan.  Mr.B.Omanakrishnan himself is an international Chess player who played along with Former World Champion and Indian Grand Master Viswanathan Anand during his childhood. He manages the association after the demise of his Dad.

Our Secretary Mr.C.Nedunchezhian, Asst. Prof. at Anna University College of Engineering is a Chess Enthusiast. He was recently elected and he dedicates most of his spare time in developing Chess in our District.  He has several plans to conduct many different tournaments in our district.

Recent achievement of our association was “Surya College FIDE Rated Chess Tournament” – first of its kind in our district conducted under the leadership of former Secretary Mr.A.Absalom which was a Grand Success.

Mr.B.Omanakrishnan(President), Mr.C.Nedunchezhian(Secretary), Mr.V.Kannan(Treasurer), Mr.R.Sampath(Vice–President), Mr.P.Venugopal(Vice-President), Mr.R.Sundaram(Vice-President), Mr.S.VenkateshBabu(Joint-Secretary), Mr.R.Rajkumar(Joint-Secretary), Mr.K.Arumugam(Joint-Secretary), Mr.J.Alandey(EC-Member), Mr.V.Dhasaradhan(EC-Member), Mr.A.Solomon(EC-Member), Mr.G.Anbazhagan(EC-Member), Mr.B.Muthukumaran(EC-Member) and Mr.G.Eswarraj(EC-Member) are the pillars of present Villupuram District Chess Association.

We at Villupuram District Chess Association conduct regular District Championship Tournament every year from which 2 boys and 2 girls from each category will be selected for the ensuing Tamilnadu State Championship conducted by TNSCA.  Villupuram District Chess Association sponsor these players by refunding their AICF, TNSCA fees, and Entry fees.

We have 13 Taluks affiliated to the District Association. We have several Clubs and Academies registered with the Association. We are producing more and more Chess players every year and we work hard to make them Strong and challenging in coming years.  We are striving hard for the growth and development of Chess in Villupuram District and we are sure that Villupuram Players will be very competitive in the coming years.